The Lotus Eaters

Over an oceanic soundscape of vibraphone and cello floats the swirling vocals that Wendy Rule has become renowned for. Anchored in the ancient Greek myth of Odysseus, this extraordinary collection of richly emotive siren Songs is as beautifully deep as the ocean itself. The journey begins with the epic opening track, Horses – an ode to the spirit of Freedom – before launching into a journey where we meet the many faces of the Goddess conveyed through Wendy’s subtle and beautiful lyrics, from the yearning of Penelopeand the sorrow of Calypso, to the wisdom of Circe and the wild dark rhythms of Hecate .



1. Horses

2. Everywhere and Nowhere

3. Penelope

4. My Heart is Like an Open Flower

5. Strange Little Soul Bird

6. The Lotus Eaters

7. La Femme de la Mer

8. Circe

9. Hecate

10. Ulysses

11. Calypso

12. The Water

13. Come to the Lake

14. The Raven Song

15. Descend to the Ocean

Press Raves for The Lotus Eaters:

Beat magazine, Melbourne
The fifteen tracks on this album are not only captivating, but have enough strength and substance to transport you to an alternate realm.

Beat magazine
…sweeping melodies, emotive vocals and the ability to haunt the mind like a lingering spirit…

Produced by Wendy Rule & Siiri Metsar
Recorded and mixed by Siiri Metsar at Metropolis Studios, Melbourne.
Mastered by Martin Pullan at Edensound, Melbourne.

Photography and front cover digital imaging by Craig Shell.
Graphic design and booklet digital imaging by Black Widow Graphic Design.

Released in 2003
Produced by Siiri Metsar at Metropolis, Melbourne
Featuring Rachel Samuel (cello)
Elissa Goodrich (vibraphone)

2″ 24-track analogue, no NR
Additional digital tracking on ProTools

100% digital (Protools) to 20-bit stereo